Greggs

October 10, 2007

I just went into Greggs the bakers to buy my lunch (yes, I know, I’m not proud). On returning to my office, I sat down and opened the bag, containing what I thought would be a nice sausage roll. I instead found myself in posession of roughly £450 in cash, in used ten- and twenty-pound notes.

What would you do in this situation? I must admit that, at first, wild thoughts of what I could do with that money crossed my mind (hello that new laptop!). I quite quickly decided to do the right thing, and went back to Greggs and handed back the money, to the relief of a very flustered looking cashier.

I did get an extra free sausage roll as a reward which I ate and has actually made me feel a bit sick. That’ll teach me to do a good deed- never again!

14 Responses to “Greggs”

  1. lo-fi Says:

    A) you is some kind of nasty eating Greggs for lunch B) you did a good thing, that was probably a poor pastry wench’s annual wage C) how come you didn’t realise sooner? 450 worth of notes is very different from a greasy sausage roll.

  2. neilstewart Says:

    a) yes I know b) you’re right, I’m a great guy! c) the weight, and indeed bulk, of those notes, weighed down with a few 2 pound coins is similar to that of a greasy sausage roll, surprisingly!

  3. Jennie Says:

    I fear for your arteries…but I must admit, they do have a very nice line in yum-yums….

    Well done on the honesty, and saving the career prospects of the aforementioned pastry wench! Although if she can’t differentiate between rolls of cash and sausage rolls, I can’t see her having a bright future there…

  4. neilstewart Says:

    Thanks Jennie! Her “roll” would have been under review that’s for sure! She wouldn’t have been paid a sausage! I saved her bacon! Erm, I think I’d better stop now…

  5. Tom P Says:

    Ignore the food snobs Neil! I’m going to have a Greggs sausage roll for breakfast, or maybe one of those sausage and bean bakes…

  6. jamespmullan Says:

    Neil well done for being moral today and making the right choice. But why a sausage roll, you might as well eat a scotch egg for Breakfast.


  7. I think there is a saying somewhere that went like this…

    “If you do a good favour for someone, one day it will return and bite you on the ass”

    Or something like that.

  8. neilstewart Says:

    Sounds about right, and that’s the moral I’ve taken from the whole episode!

  9. John Franssen Says:

    I would have been tempted to go back to Greggs and buy £450 worth of cheese and onion pasties.

  10. neilstewart Says:

    It would have been the logical thing to do, in hindsight!

  11. Dan Says:

    I would have bought the laptop.

  12. stag weekend Says:

    I think one of your close friends need to contact Greggs PR dept. and suggest they give you a decent reward for your honesty and in the process create some great publicity for them.
    Imagine the headline in the Sun – Greggs buys laptop for man who returned lots of dough!
    If Greggs were savvy they’d even do a scratch card promotion to win a laptop/£450 every time you buy a …
    If you haven’t got a close mate who’ll do it for you – email me and I will!


Leave a Reply

