Google Reader

February 15, 2007

I’ve started using Google Reader as an RSS feed aggregator. I was always slightly sceptical about RSS aggreagators, having tried Newsgator and Bloglines before. Both these latter services seem to have a cluttered interface, and to require too many click-throughs to get to the information you want. It always seemed easier just to go to the site in question rather than mess around with a rather clunky intermediate service.

Google Reader, on the other hand, has a simple, clean interface, displays the feeds in an easy to read format, and updates automatically in a similar fashion to Gmail. In addition, with a Google ID, you can log in automatically and quickly set up feeds to your favourite news sites, blogs and so on.

Of course, there is the eternal question of whether one should unthinkingly use and thereby endorse Google’s products, but when they make it this easy it is difficult to resist. And if Google does end up destroying all the information they are unable to index, then at least my RSS feeds will be safe!

5 Responses to “Google Reader”

  1. lo_fi Says:

    Google knows where you live.

  2. Tom Says:

    i switched from bloglines to google reader recently and I prefer it for the reasons you mention. I seem to be at the stage now where I’d happily give google my bank account details and the keys to my house if i thought it might make my life slightly easier, if i had a first born I’d probably give them that too.

  3. neilstewart Says:

    Absolutely! I’m planning to have the Google logo tatooed on my forehead…

  4. lo_fi Says:

    … or Larry and Sergey on each buttock. Sorry, I’ve gone too far now

  5. neilstewart Says:

    I’d already done that!


Leave a Reply

